Brood XIII

May 24, 2007

cicada.jpg

Sounds scary, doesn’t it.  But there is nothing I can do to stop the invasion.  What is Brood XIII?  They are the 17 year cicadas that will soon debut in this part of the woods.  Nature at its weirdest. 

From the article:

“Periodical cicadas are dormant longer than any insect in the world,” said Richard Grantham, entomologist at Oklahoma State University. “The adults emerge, they never feed, they have a big orgy, and they die.”

Because of the massive amounts of these weird and loud (louder than a blender) insects, party planners are in a panic. God forbid if you planned an outside June wedding in Illinois.

I’m a little nervous (and excited, yes I’m a nerd) about the whole event. (BTW, pets love to eat the little buggers, what a joy)

2 Responses to “Brood XIII”

  1. Robbie Says:

    Everyone seems to have seen these things but me. A burb three miles north of me is absolutely infested. I want to be infested =(

  2. johninil Says:

    They are ugly, annoying and loud. And I can’t wait. (It’s like asking for Rosie to appear in my back yard.)

    (BTW, I’m glad my first comment was from you, Robbie. It proves abstinence in blogging works!)


Leave a Reply

