It’s pink, it’s sparkly and it balances your checkbook!

June 9, 2007

Just what I’ve always wanted.  Leave it to the  ever amazing (and amusing) Japanese.  Computer maker NEC has debuted the “Hello Kitty” laptop .  The cutest laptop ever.  This sucker is “encrusted in 299 sparking Swarovski crystals” and retails for about $1,600.  

I’ve said it before but I really do love capitalism.

4 Responses to “It’s pink, it’s sparkly and it balances your checkbook!”

  1. QuakerJono Says:

    God help me, but in a little shameful way, I sorta actually do want one of those…

  2. John in IL Says:

    It has to be the shiny fabulousity of it all. No reason to feel ashamed.

  3. QuakerJono Says:

    I always feel vaguely ashamed when I want something with Kitty-chan on it as I am neither Japanese nor a 12-year-old girl. While I am trying to learn Japanese, there are some aspects of Japanese culture I don’t want to develop any greater liking for.

    Still, this shame goes back, way back, to child hood and the mall. There was an actual “Hello Kitty” store at the local mall, right next to the Waldenbooks, and I would sneak in there because they had all these tiny little sparkling things like pencil sharpeners and stamps and stickers and I LOVED it. Urg, some people get clues they’re gay by looking at the underwear ads in a Sears catalog for too long or having a crush on a coach (which I also did, but later). My clues started with having to combat a strong desire to sneak into the “Hello Kitty” store and sniff their brightly colored flower-shaped erasers which actually smelled like flowers and bubble gum.


  4. […] admit that I have a weakness for all things Hello Kitty.   And putting stuff on your cat, now that’s pure comedy gold.  But combining the two is a […]


Leave a Reply

