In the beginning (it smelled like dogshit)

July 15, 2007

OK, here it is. My latest flip. After a two week delay in closing (seller’s problem, not mine), I own it as of yesterday.  

Today was my first full day of work. I’m a little stiff and sore but I’ll give you the grand tour anyway.

(You’re lucky these aren’t scratch and sniff pictures)
flip-front.jpg

780 square feet of stink. The bushes (that ate Cincinnati) and the butt ugly awnings will soon be gone. New roof and gutters to be installed.

flip-living.jpg

This is a shot of the living room.  Like the hole in the wall?  It is one of many. The (hot) guy that turned on the water yesterday said that they weren’t there when he shut the water off.  The previous owners were real gems. He also said that they had a very large handicapped dog (the neighbor said Mastiff). I’m guessing the handicap was incontenence.

flip-kitchen.jpg

Gotta love this.  Who leaves a house with dishes in the sink and family photos on the fridge.  The greasy cabinets and those chiclet ceramic tiles(who the fuck tiles a soffit?) are history as of today.  The chiclets put up quite a fight.

flip-hallway.jpg

Here’s the hallway (looking into the second bedroom). You see the white crock pot on the floor? That black crock pot looking thing next to it is actually a Fry Daddy with the grease still in it.
flip-master.jpg

And finally, the master bedroom.   Before I tackled the chiclets, I ripped this literally shitty carpet out of here (the only carpet in the house, thank God).  Once it and its equally offensive padding was gone, my gagging decreased by 50%.  After the toilet was cleaned (don’t even ask), the gagging factor was at manageable levels.

Now the fun begins.

6 Responses to “In the beginning (it smelled like dogshit)”

  1. QuakerJono Says:

    Oh. My. God. Look at those floors. Sure, they’re not at the best now, but once they’re cleaned up, those babies are gonna sparkle! I wish I was rich so I could put in hardwoods rather than the moderately priced laminate I could afford.

    As for the stink, how do you even get rid of an odor like that? Seriously, how, because there’s a weird smell in my basement that I’ve just noticed.

    And what the fuck is a soffit?

  2. John in IL Says:

    The stink was (almost) all in the carpet. A lot of cleaning with a lot of bleach will take care of the rest of it.

    And yes, the floors will be beautiful because I have a magic munchkin (that’s what I call him) that comes in and refinishes hardwood floors for less than it would cost to carpet them.

    Regarding the stink in your basement. Do you get water in it on a regular basis? It shouldn’t stink otherwise.

    And soffits…A soffit in a kitchen is the built out portion above cabinets (as opposed to having an open space above your cabinets), more an architectural feature, but sometimes there is ductwork/electrical lines/whatever running through it.)

  3. QuakerJono Says:

    Well, it’s not exactly a stink. It’s just an odd smell. It’s not mold and there’s no water coming into the basement. Oh well, I wasn’t planning on spending too much time down there until I get a radon mitigation system put in anyway.

    So that’s what a soffit is. Thanks, I learned something today. 🙂

  4. John in IL Says:

    Maybe try a dehumidifier in the basement. Even dry basements get bit musty.


  5. (wrinkles nose)

    Have you considered the virtues of an exorcism?


  6. […] all been waiting for: The Finished Product (for any new readers here, I’m talking about my latest project). I’m about sick of being at the site myself even though it has only been a month and a half. […]


Leave a Reply

