Part time lover

August 2, 2007

dogs3.jpg 

My first response to this was “ewww”.  My second thought was “jeez, why didn’t I think of that?”:

Don’t have time for a pet? How about a part-time dog?

That’s what a California-based company is offering to people who are too busy to care for a dog full time, but want the enjoyment of a pet after work or whenever’s convenient.

Marlena Cervantes, founder of FlexPetz, likes to call it ‘shared pet ownership’ and explains the concept is much like a condo time-share or a gym membership.

If the dog has the right temperament (like mine, who would be happy to be around anyone; I’m special, but not that special) and would otherwise face life in a shelter and/or death, I see nothing wrong with someone making a buck off of it. How different is this (for the dog) than someone volunteering at a shelter who visits and exercises a dog on a part time basis?   I guessing people who are bothered by this are upset over someone making money on the deal. And it’s some serious money:

For an annual fee of $99.95, a monthly payment of $49.95 and a per-visit charge of $39.95 a day, (discounted to $24.95 Sunday through Thursday), animal lovers who enroll in FlexPetz get to spend time with a four-legged companion from Cervantes’ 10-dog crew of Afghan hounds, Labrador retrievers and Boston terriers.

An example of someone not happy with the idea (some people need to get a sense of proportion):

On almost every page they brag that most of these dogs that you can rent are rescue dogs. So that makes it all better??

Thats just like human trafficking. You think its good to take poor woman from China, move them to a rich country like Canada,, or America, and them turn them into prostitutes.

Oh yeah, exactly the same thing.

One caveat: I couldn’t find on the website if it was possible for someone to permanently adopt a dog (for a fee of course). That would be a good thing.

3 Responses to “Part time lover”

  1. Jamie Says:

    I was going to write something on this the other day but just couldn’t get the words out right.

    I can’t put it into words but I don’t care for the idea myself. While I think “human trafficking” is quite a stretch (that guy needs some sense of proportion), I also don’t see dogs as “property.” As pack animals they have certain needs that can’t be met with this arrangement–how can there be a “dominant” leader (which is what Cesar Milan is always stressing dogs need) when there’s a different one every day?

  2. John in IL Says:

    While probably not the ideal situation, it’s better than the alternative. I don’t see how any dog is harmed by this. Like I said, my dog loves to be around other people and she would absolutely thrive in this kind of environment. I could rent her out every day of the week and she’d be fine (that’s the terrier in her).

    If the dogs have the right training and the proper temperament(which I’m guessing they would have to, in order to make this a successful business ie part time owners couldn’t handle neurotic dogs), I’m not sure how you can say their “needs aren’t being met”.

  3. John in IL Says:

    Regarding “dominant leader”. One thing I’ve learned from Cesar is that the dominant leader is the one who shows he is dominant. It’s not so much the person as it is the attitude of dominance(as he clearly demonstrates).


Leave a Reply

