Black is the new green

August 9, 2007

black.jpg

Jamie has a post up over at I must be dreaming about Blackle.  Basically, it’s Google with a black background and white text, instead of Google’s white background with black text.

The point of Blackle is to save energy (i.e. a white screen on your monitor uses more energy than a black screen). While saving energy is a good thing, it turns out this is only true for CRT monitors (the big ugly ones). If you have a LCD monitor (like I do), there is no energy savings.  My thanks to Jamie for making me do my homework.

In addition to Blackle, others have jumped on the black screen search bandwagon. In no particular order:

Blackgoogle (fight the power?)

Darkoogle (is that dark-oogle or dar-koogle?)

Greenergle (even harder to pronounce)

Greygle (for those who can’t make up their mind)

Searchincolor (for the friends of Dorothy crowd)

If that’s not green enough for you,  you can also offset the carbon footprint of your own blog/website here:

Websites can seem like quite abstract, ethereal entities that live ‘somewhere in cyberspace’, leaving some people wondering just how they can contribute to global warming. In fact, a number of factors involved in creating and running a website produce significant carbon emissions.

6 Responses to “Black is the new green”


  1. (stops at pic)

    I’m sorry….you were saying something about energy efficiency?

  2. Jamie Says:

    Carbon offsets–grrrrr. The idea that you can stop pollution by giving money away irritates me to no end. Paying for carbon offsets is completely retarded.

    Not that I’m opinionated.

    And thanks for doing the research. Now I can continue being lazy. 🙂

  3. QuakerJono Says:

    I am also not sure what the picture has to do with white websites co-opting black website culture, but given that picture, I don’t really care.

    I’d let Daniel Craig adjust the background color of my websearch engine any day.

    That sounded far dirtier in my head.

  4. John in IL Says:

    As you may have noticed, some of my posts are just weak excuses to post a picture of a hot guy.

    And I’m sure there is plenty of Daniel to go around for all of us (but I’m in the front of that line, bitches).


  5. You’ve forgotten the rule of the wilderness, John: don’t argue about who goes first with a hungry bear. 🙂


Leave a Reply

