The end of the end is near

August 28, 2007

Ok foks, what you’ve all been waiting for: The Finished Product (for any new readers here, I’m talking about my latest project). I’m about sick of being at the site myself even though it has only been a month and a half. I’ve cleaned up enough dog hair mixed with frying grease and scrubbed enough loogeys and boogers off the wall to last a lifetime. That said, I’m very happy with the results. It’s such a nice little house. I would love for the former owners(losers) to come back so I could show them what a great house they could’ve had.

Here are the before and after pics (click to enlarge):

The front. Not much to do here except rip out those bushes and awnings. I powerwashed the vinyl siding (I love to powerwash!) and did some minimal landscaping.

flip-front-2.jpg    post-flip-front.jpg

One shot of the living room. Floors refinished throughout, wall repair, paint.
flip-living.jpg    post-flip-living-room-2.jpg

Another shot of the living room:
flip-living-room.jpg    post-flip-living-room.jpg

By far the biggest changes were in the kitchen. New laminate flooring, cabinets, countertops, microvent, paint and wallpaper.
flip-kitchen.jpg    post-flip-kitchen1.jpg

Another shot of the kitchen. Added the chair rail and the faux wainscot wallpaper.
flip-kitchen-2.jpg    post-flip-kitchen2.jpg

The master bedroom. By far, the stinkiest of the rooms in the beginning. The dark stain on the floor was the only one that floor sander guy couldn’t get out. But I dont consider it a a flaw; I call it character(whatever works).
flip-master.jpg    post-flip-master.jpg

The back of the house. Nothing special here besides general clean up (and more powerwashing).
flip-back.jpg    post-flip-back.jpg

I still have a few minor things to finish but I should be all done by the end of this week.  Here’s hoping other people will like it as much as I do.

6 Responses to “The end of the end is near”

  1. QuakerJono Says:

    Wow, that’s a fantastic job! Such a nice little deck. Someday I want a deck. And a koi pond.

    Anyway, COME POWERWASH MY HOUSE!

  2. John in IL Says:

    Thank you. I’m just so thrilled with the outcome. I love this little house.

    And have you ever powerwashed before? If you haven’t, rent one and try it. You’ll find out what I’m talking about. The best analogy I can think of (although I’ve never shot a gun in my life)is that powerwashing is like fighting grime with an Uzi. You can wash the shit off of anything (but be careful, don’t try to wash off your feet with one, as I painfully found out).


  3. It looks great, John…..I shudder to think how much sweat and blood is in it. Before it was seriously ugly….and now it’s a cute little cottage.

    The awnings were the worst. Ugh, what a difference.

    And QJ, if you like, you may come visit and sit and meditate on our deck by our koi pond, filled with eight twenty-pound koi that are going on age 25.

    Then you can kill the bamboo next to it (DIE! DIE!)

  4. John in IL Says:

    Thanks. There was a little blood and some sweat. To be honest, even after my martyr post about not turning the air on at my own home, I did crank up the A/C when I was working inside this house. My excuse: paint/joint compound dries better at certain temperatures/humidity levels (that’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it).


  5. […] bitter. The reason: I’m fabulously wealthy I earn my money the wrong way. Making it by scraping a half inch of grease and dog hair off a dirty floor in a repossessed house somehow doesn’t qualify as income when figuring if I get a stimulus check. And the little bit […]


  6. Hello I discovered your website by accident, I was searching the net for Honolulu Floor when I found your website, I must say your blog is very great I just love the layout, its astounding! I’m in a bit of a rush at the moment to entirely read your blog but I have favorited it and also signed up for your RSS feeds. I will be back when I free up some time. Thanks for a great site.


Leave a Reply

