Mother says

November 7, 2007

My 70 year old mother says the funniest things (and swears like a drunken sailor). I thought I should share. Oh, the wisdom of the ages:

Shit in one hand and wish in the other. See which gets full first.

Classic! (and no, she has never seen Bad Santa)

6 Responses to “Mother says”

  1. QuakerJono Says:

    Oh yeah, well, what if you wish for shit? What then, smart guy? Huh? HUH?!?!?

  2. John in IL Says:

    Well, my mother would smack you for saying that. As my grandmother said, “don’t get lippy” (and the implied “or else”). Violence and wisdom go hand in hand.

  3. John in IL Says:

    /Hyperbole

  4. Aristomedes Says:

    My mother (1909-1974)used to say the same thing. I wonder if it was a regionalism: she was from Greenville, NC. Otherwise it was a bit out of line with her usual language as a grammar school teacher.

  5. Jamie Says:

    My grandmother used to say that as well. She was bad-ass and I miss her immensely.

  6. John in IL Says:

    Hmmm…My mother was raised in Iowa, so it must be the age group. Googling, I am.


Leave a Reply

