God stopped by the Quikie Mart (for a smoke)

December 5, 2007

smoking-is-believing.jpg
On my way home tonight, I stopped by a local quikie mart (or Kwik-E-Mart, to the purists) to buy a pack of cigs. All went well until I got done signing the credit card receipt. The creepy looking, middle-aged white cashier guy (who I’ve never seen before in my life) said to me “Thanks, John. God bless you.”  First of all, I hate when waitstaff and cashiers try to be my friend just because they read the name on my credit card.  That is so wrong.  The “God bless you” part was just plain strange. All I could come up with for a response was a rather weak “OK”.  I suppose his intentions were well meaning but it seemed a little out of place.  I was buying a pack of cigarettes for Christ’s sake.   My other thought was that maybe God was trying to tell me something (like I should stick to Walgreen’s when buying my smokes).

7 Responses to “God stopped by the Quikie Mart (for a smoke)”


  1. Agree with you on the name on the credit card, if for no other reason than I don’t even go by it (long, LONG story).

    But as for the “bless you”, “OK” sounds like a good answer. Nice and neutral.

  2. John in IL Says:

    If anything, I’m nice and neutral (I’m the Switzerland of blogging).


  3. OK, the Switzerland of blogging, the Mother Teresa of YouTube……I can hardly wait to see what comes next.

  4. Quakerjono Says:

    Er, I believe the real issue here is: You charge cigarettes?

  5. John in IL Says:

    NDT: Me either (and I think I got a new tag line out of that) 😉

    QJ: It was a debit card (if that makes a difference).

    (and yes, I know I overuse/abuse parentheses)

  6. colio2007 Says:

    peace be with you, john. you are totes right on.

    next time you get blessed, how about: “amen.”

  7. John in IL Says:

    peace be with you, john

    and also with you, col


Leave a Reply

