Marking time (in bulk)

January 14, 2008

folgers.jpg
I had to buy coffee filters yesterday (after forgetting a day, when I had to use a makeshift paper towel filter). With things like coffee filters, I always buy in bulk because they don’t go bad (500 count for $3.69). The last time I bought filters was more than a year ago. That always makes me think about time as measured by my life. I drink a pot of coffee a day. One filter; one pot of coffee; one day. Where will I be 500 pots from now? How different will my life be the next time I have to buy coffee filters?

A related question: How different would my life be if I switched coffee brands?

12 Responses to “Marking time (in bulk)”

  1. colio2007 Says:

    gahh! had i been joe’s better half the scalding pot ‘o folgers would have been introduced to his waspy ass face!

  2. John in IL Says:

    WWMOD (What would Mrs. Olsen do)?

  3. superdave524 Says:

    I just got off the phone with Juan Valdez, and he’s pissed. He wants equal time. You do not want to piss off the Columbians.

  4. Jamie Says:

    Well, lessee: If you switch then you’ll miss “the best part of waking up!” Natch!

  5. Quakerjono Says:

    I swear to God, if you do one of those god damn YouTubes, “I took a picture of me every day for a year” type things except you take a picture every time you change a coffee filter, I will track you down and beat you with a bag of Starbuck’s French Roast.


  6. What about my lesbian shoes series? 🙂

  7. John in IL Says:

    sd: I gave the Colombians enough money in my younger years. They’re cool with it. (and thanks for stopping by)

    Jamie: the best part of waking up is waking up.

    QJ: Funny you mention that. I’ve been thinking about starting a pic blog (but not about me). Nice threat, though.

    NDT: We’ve been waiting…

  8. Quakerjono Says:

    NDT: I figure eventually you’ll walk those lesbian shoes into the wrong part of town and be mugged by the cast of The L Word and the lawn gnome from Amelie, so I don’t have to do anything about that.

    JiL: Nothing wrong with a photo blog. It’s pretension that gets people whacked with a bag of Columbia roast.

  9. Jamie Says:

    Jamie: the best part of waking up is waking up.

    Spoken like a true 90-year old. 🙂

  10. PatrickP Says:

    I’ve thought very similarly about my coffee filters, John.

    Have you guys seen this?


  11. NDT: I figure eventually you’ll walk those lesbian shoes into the wrong part of town and be mugged by the cast of The L Word and the lawn gnome from Amelie, so I don’t have to do anything about that.

    Naah, the lesbians love me, ’cause I don’t shave my armpits, either. 🙂

  12. John in IL Says:

    It’s pretension that gets people whacked with a bag of Columbia roast.

    Is that British Columbia or District of Columbia?


Leave a Reply

