My congressional district has a wang

January 25, 2008

17th-district-illinois.gif

What is this, you ask?  Unfortunately, it is the map of my congressional district,  the 17th district of Illinois to be exact.  I call it the Fonzie fetus with a wang map.

Here is the tour from north to south: It starts at the end of that big pompadour in Sterling and heads westward toward chez moi.   It then follows the river southwest to Quincy (ignoring that birth defect that is Kewanee and the chin of nothing but corn), then east through the middle of God Only Knows, Illinois.   This is where it gets fun.   Turn north at God Only Knows and you enter the wang of the 17th district.  It consists of parts of Springfield ending up in Decatur.  And when I say parts, I mean laughably small parts. 

Here is a close up of the Springfield part of the wang:

springfield-wang.gif

I guess those people on Williams Street in Springfield have much more in common with me, 200 miles away, than they do with their neighbors on West Allen Street.  

Shit like this makes me wonder if it is even worth it. 

UPDATE:  I forgot.  We were featured on The Colbert Report.

2 Responses to “My congressional district has a wang”

  1. superdave524 Says:

    That is some truly awe-inspiring gerrymandering. Man, they didn’t even try to make it look legit. If you’ve got to work that hard to find people that will vote for you…

  2. Quakerjono Says:

    It’s very artistic. Sort of like a cross between a scorpion and a reindeer.


Leave a Reply

