Resurgent wildlife (or Do wolves eat kittehs?)

January 28, 2008

wolf-howling.jpg

More (disturbing) local news:

Earlier this week, Jerry Miller found the carcass of a badly mutilated deer in his backyard in the 4400 block of 34th Avenue. Along with blood spatters and matted fur, he found large tracks. He called Bill Christman, owner of Christman’s Wildlife Service, who believes the tracks were too big to be from a dog or coyote.

Mr. Christman said he believes the tracks were made by a gray wolf.

That’s fucking great. I already had a close encounter with a wild turkey at an ATM.  Now I have to worry about wolves in Illinois?

10 Responses to “Resurgent wildlife (or Do wolves eat kittehs?)”

  1. KevinQC Says:

    Wild turkey? ATM? There’s a story there…

  2. John in IL Says:

    I forgot that I never posted My Thanksgiving Story. Probably because I drank my Thanksgiving dinner.

  3. colio2007 Says:

    Did your Thanksgiving dinner include Wild Turkey Bourbon? That would be one hellova coincidence.

  4. PatrickP Says:

    I sure hope they eat kitties.

  5. John in IL Says:

    col: Sorry to disappoint, but I hate bourbon.

    Patrick: You’re not nice.

    and I think he was the culprit.

  6. PatrickP Says:

    You hate bourbon. I hate cats. Blech. Sticky kitty litter boxes, hair, dander. Allergies. Their shitty attitudes don’t help their cause either.

  7. John in IL Says:

    You’ll like this then.

  8. PatrickP Says:

    I hate it when people bring that thing to potlucks. I want to vomit when I see it. Cat boxes literally make me gag.

  9. John in IL Says:

    OK, so you didn’t like that. How ’bout this?


  10. I have to kind of side with Patrick, although I blame it on growing-up experience; dogs were valuable, since they could herd, and cats were replaceable, since we’d never waste money on neutering or spaying them and we lived right across the road from a dairy (aka cat magnet).

    This benign neglect, though, is probably why I grew up with sixteen-pound cats who could kill rabbits.


Leave a Reply

