I need some stimulation (or Give me my $600, bitch)

January 30, 2008

daniel-craig-or-else.jpg

Russell Roberts’ take on the pending stimulus package:

Love that word—stimulus. It sounds so scientific. With the right stimulus, you can even make the leg of a dead frog twitch. A heart attack victim gets the stimulus from those chest paddles and bam. Back to life. My online dictionary defines stimulus as something that “rouses or incites to activity.” Sounds like the perfect prescription for an ailing economy.

But if politicians know how to stimulate the economy, why wait for a recession? If you can make the economy grow, why wait for bad times?

One answer is that a healthy patient doesn’t need medicine. But the other possibility is that it’s all hot air. Maybe we don’t know how to make a $14 trillion economy move very quickly. And if we did, it would take a lot more than an injection of even 125 billion dollars.

3 Responses to “I need some stimulation (or Give me my $600, bitch)”

  1. Quakerjono Says:

    I found that package to be quite stimulating…

  2. John in IL Says:

    I’d pay $600 for it.


Leave a Reply

