I don’t get it

April 2, 2008

confused.jpg

Things that I don’t quite understand but may with a little more time or instruction.  Or not.

NASCAR
MySpace/Facebook
Forex markets
Semicolons
Leather queens
Starbucks
Opera
Dennis Kucinich’s wife

(h/t col)

11 Responses to “I don’t get it”

  1. Quakerjono Says:

    I get Opera and semicolons. Everything else is a mystery, although I do have MySpace and Facebook pages.

  2. John in IL Says:

    Explain semicolons to me (Opera can wait). Am I doing it wrong?

  3. Quakerjono Says:

    The semicolon is a tricksy one; its usage is rather a matter of taste. Similar to the comma and the period, it separates two independent clauses. Unlike the comma, it doesn’t rely on the use of a coordinating conjunction like “and”, “but”, “so” and others to separate those clauses. My understanding is that it’s a bit more of a figurative pause than a comma, denoting a more of an ideological break between clauses, but less than the hard stop of a period.

    For example:

    I’m going to the store to get some milk.

    Neatly does away with the need for commas or semicolons completely. But is life ever that simple?

    I’m going to the store, and I’m going to spend a shitload of money.

    Two independent clauses (three, really, but we’re just going to ignore the third one the way my jokes are always ignored because no one loves me and I never got enough social attention as a child and have an oddly developed sense of humor that was always either going to make me a fortune as a “dark and quirky” writer or a social pariah as “that weird guy who laughs at things that aren’t funny”…*ahem* where was I?) that are directly related. Conceptually, they’re very closely linked

    I’m going to the store; their milk is half price.

    The two clauses are definitely related, but there’s a bit of conceptual difference between them. Not so much as to require a period, but perhaps more than a comma would connote.

    You can also use certain connecting words with semicolons, such as “however”, “therefore”, “moreover” and others like this.

    I’m going to the store; otherwise, my ass will starve.

    In the end, so long as basic punctuation rules are correct, it really seems to boil down to personal style more than anything. Some people indulge in semicolon use, but some people also use phrases like “irregardles” and “escape goat”. Others use them sparingly; however, when they do appear, they draw immediate attention.

  4. superdave524 Says:

    I thought a semi-colon described a trucker’s intestines.

  5. Jamie Says:

    Just read Eats, Shoots, and Leaves; it succintly delineates punctuation.

  6. Jamie Says:

    And what the hell is so hard to “get” about NASCAR? It’s an excuse to get drunk in public. DUH. 😉

  7. col Says:

    Starbucks is an addiction.

    I was always a coffee girl — Starbucks got to me when I was in college, marketing itself as coffee for coffee lovers.

    It was less expensive then. And less ubiquitous so it seemed like a treat.

    I didn’t love the burnt taste initially. But after a few times, I started to like it — it was distinctive.

    And by then I was hooked. Needed the caffeine. And the stores were everywhere.

    I know, it’s dumb. But so is smoking, and that’s damned hard to quit too.

  8. John in IL Says:

    Thanks for the excellent tutorial, QJ! Good to see you are spending your free time wisely.

  9. John in IL Says:

    Jamie, if getting drunk in public was the explanation for NASCAR, I should understand it. Still don’t get it.

  10. John in IL Says:

    and col. I drink a lot of coffee and I’ve never been to Starbucks. The coffee is better? Still don’t get it.

  11. Jamie Says:

    Of course, I just HAD to misspell succinctly. *sigh*


Leave a Reply

