Spelling: Rules for having a hit song

April 3, 2008

superdave reminded me that spelling and songcraft have a long history together.  Spelling something in a song is a surefire way to pop stardom(or at least a quirky footnote).  I’m adding spelling to the long list of gimmicks I like in pop tunes.

You can’t start a list like this without giving some respect to the classics:

and it works in any format. Country? You betcha.

Disco?  That’s obvious.

New Wave? Why not?

The kids today like it too:

and kids of all ages love this shit:

11 Responses to “Spelling: Rules for having a hit song”

  1. superdave524 Says:

    Excellent eccletic alphabet soup. The SpongeBob/Three Days’ Grace mix a fitting capper. I’m still curious as to why the Men without Hats wanted me to look at my hands, though.

  2. John in IL Says:

    That’s what you do in Canada.

  3. superdave524 Says:

    I hit a level 12 on that world map thingy. Boo-yah!


  4. Nice list. I also submit the classic EBN-OZN lesson about vowels, “AEIOU Sometimes Y”.

  5. John in IL Says:

    You win, superdave! Way to obsess!

    and CoaS: thought about it but AEIOU doesn’t spell anything.

  6. superdave524 Says:

    Sadly, I now have to wait for someone to tell me something else to do.

  7. John in IL Says:

    Give me time. I’ll think of something.

  8. PatrickP Says:

    I like the first video. I keep telling R I want an Asian baby and he says “no way!” He says they’re cute when their young, but they grow up. (Likes they’re dogs or something.)

  9. John in IL Says:

    Here’s hoping you don’t have kids together.

  10. John in IL Says:

    or apart

  11. PatrickP Says:

    Haha. Well, he’s Asian, born and raised here in SoCal, and he always talks shit about Asian people. I doubt we will ever have kids together. (or apart)


Leave a Reply

