Hill and Jay

April 5, 2008

I’m not a Hill hater. She has her appeal. And I understand that the primaries are about playing to the base. If elected, she’d probably govern in the center, much like her husband did (without the oral sex). And she can be quite funny, too (the sniper fire bit in the beginning). Sometimes I want to say to her “Yeah, I get it Hill. You’re human. Quit trying so damn hard to prove it”. But crap like this makes me cringe (about 3:30 into the clip):

I was in Indianapolis the other day and I was shaking hands after I spoke. And there was this young boy about eleven years old and he’s trying to tell me something—you know the crowd was yelling—so I leaned over and he said, “You know, my mom makes minimum wage and even though it went up, her hours were cut. So we’re not making any more money. Can you help her?” You know, when somebody says something like that to you, it really does kind of energize me. I think, yeah, I can, I’m going to really try to help you, because this is wrong.

First thought: yeah, right. Like that happened.

Regarding the point of her story, Russell Roberts puts it this way:

She clearly thinks the story is emblematic of something important that needs to get fixed. What is it? Just when you help someone by passing a minimum wage, greedy employers ruin everything by lowering the hours. Well, we need to “fight” and fix that, too.

I wish Jay Leno had pointed out that the cut in hours was the result of passing the minimum wage–that it was as inevitable as gravity. I wish he’d said that the story showed how the minimum wage is a false promise of prosperity. I wish he’d pointed out that fighting isn’t enough, caring isn’t enough, that prosperity can’t be legislated any more than self-interest can be made illegal.

(emphasis added)

4 Responses to “Hill and Jay”

  1. Quakerjono Says:

    And you know what? As I sit here trying to figure out where the money is going to come from for the two new prescriptions my aunt who has lupus needs and exactly how I’m going to make sure she has an adequate diet and where I’m going to cut my own food budget to do so, I find myself spectacularly unconcerned about Robert’s smugly self-satisfied critique and really rather just wishing he’d develop mouth cancer and shut the fuck up.

  2. John in IL Says:

    Don’t start that shit with me. If you’re serious, cut your inground swimming pool money budget first.


  3. I think, yeah, I can, I’m going to really try to help you, because this is wrong.

    What’s wrong?

    There is no law that says employers have to give employees a certain number of hours.

    But let’s say Hillary, Obama, and their leftist friends decide to pass one, accompanied by the requisite Charles Schumer/Ted Kennedy pontifications and the insinuation that anyone who opposes it wants poor people ground up into hamburger for the rich.

    Surprise! The number of employed people will drop, since the number of hours required to complete the work is not likely to change.

    Then, of course, they pass a law to mandate a certain number of employees regardless of whether they work or not, then they collectivize the businesses and force people to buy from them, and before long, we’re all walking around like Garbo in Ninotchka, giddy when we can get four people together so we can have a three-egg omelet in our apartment where we share the space with two people and the bathroom with twelve.

    Or Hillary could just take some of her millions and pay this kid’s mother, which would nicely solve the immediate problem without running the rest of us into the ground.

  4. col Says:

    totally agree with you john!


Leave a Reply

