And my hair keeps getting longer…

April 9, 2008

Local news:

Steve’s Barber Shop, in Rock Island, is a first-rate clip joint, an old-fashioned barbershop complete with magazine rack, newspapers, television and sports calendars. It’s one of a variety of hilltop businesses near 30th Street and 13th Avenue, and it’s distinguished by the exterior’s bright-green awning.

What made it great inside was the legendary Steve Coulston, who barbered his way into the lives of thousands in the 36 years he owned the place.

Sadly, 53-year-old Steve Coulston’s larger-than-life heart gave out in mid-March, leaving a huge void in the lives of those who trusted their locks to his gifted hands.

Ain’t that the truth. Steve was such a great guy. I only knew him for 15 minutes of my life every three weeks ($10.00 a cut) for ten years but he made all those minutes really interesting and I always left happy. And speaking of numbers, 53 is way too young.

I’ll never forget what he said to me the first time he gave me haircut (referring to my hard to cut hair):

I bet you’ve had a lot of bad hair cuts in your life, haven’t you.

You’ll be missed.

One Response to “And my hair keeps getting longer…”

  1. superdave524 Says:

    Sounds like he made a lot of impact in his 53 years, though.


Leave a Reply

