The good, the bad, the cute and the really ugly

May 31, 2008

What a day. It started out so nice. My first peony flower came into full bloom today. Mother says they’re late. They’re supposed to be out on Memorial Day so they can be put on graves, she says. I told her to talk to the other Mother. I’m not complaining. I dug up and seperated two bushes in the fall of ’05. Now my eight bushes are finally getting blooms!

Nature has a darker side too. Kitteh #3 goes out everyday. She grew up outside and I think it’s unfair for me to keep her in. But it was so nice out(and the peonies put me in such a good mood) I relented and let kitteh #1 outside too. Twenty minutes later, there was a huge ruckus(that’s a word you don’t hear much anymore) outside my window. Birds are PISSED. Ran to the deck and kitteh #1 is being attacked by robins. Looking closer, kitteh has a fat baby robin in his mouth. After a little girly screaming on my part, I grabbed Mr. Man and smacked his head until he dropped it. The baby robin was bloodied but not dead and hobbled off. Fucking circle of life.

Then the day started to look better. Every Saturday, my city has a spot where you can dump pretty much any kind of (nonhazardous) junk you want. It really helps stop people from dumping crap willy nilly (another fun old word). Here is this week’s pile:

It usually is bigger than that. The dreamy guy who writes down your license plate number as you drive in must not have used his Tonka truck yet to push it into the normal huge pile (and getting a picture of the garbage is much easier than getting a picture of the hot guy).

Rounding out my day, I attended a wine tasting party. ‘Nuff said.

3 Responses to “The good, the bad, the cute and the really ugly”

  1. colio2007 Says:

    sounds delightful, john. and i love the word ruckus.

  2. superdave524 Says:

    I’ve used ruckus and willy-nilly. My ex said I sometimes talked like her grandmother. ‘Course, her Grandmother was pretty cool…

  3. John in IL Says:

    Ruckus and willy nilly are such fun words. Why should we leave them to the oldsters? Grandma would be so proud of me. But then she never missed a Cubs game.


Leave a Reply

