Deferred maintenance

June 8, 2008

I always try to keep my digi camera handy in case I see something I like. I’ve noticed a trend. I’m drawn to things that are neglected and/or abandoned.

I took this back in April. It’s an old Clark gas station that closed about ten years ago. Fillerup, bitches.

<

Here’s the old Lutheran Hospital.

There used to be a sky bridge between this hospital and Moline Public Hospital across the street. Both buildings overlooked downtown Moline and the river. Moline Public was torn down a long time ago. It has since been replaced by a higher end housing development. I’m not superstitious but I don’t think I could buy a house on land where so many people suffered and died. But then I’ve watched Poltergeist way too many times.

When I first drove past this I was stumped.

Curiousity got the best of me so I took a closer look. It’s an old baseball diamond. This is the dugout. Nature doesn’t fuck around. It takes that shit back.

And if I’m not careful, my house might fall into this category. A shot of my gutters:

Gaia may not send you a bill but you still have to pay for the natural A/C that is shade.

11 Responses to “Deferred maintenance”

  1. Quakerjono Says:

    Holy crapdogs, dude, it might be time to clean out the gutters…

    I love the trees reclaiming the baseball diamond photo. Good shot.

  2. John in IL Says:

    I know. And what did I do today? I cleaned Mother‘s gutters. That’s the only reason why I would ever want children. FREE LABOR!

    And cleaning gutters is a full time job at my house. I have a silver maple in the front yard(the trees that make the “helicopter” seeds; that’s what is growing in the gutters) and a honey locust in the back yard. Two incredibly messy trees. If I didn’t love the shade so much I would hire a hot lumberjack to cut them both down.

  3. superdave524 Says:

    Cool photos, John. Also, you sound like a good son. Mostly it’s more work getting kids to work than to just do it yourself. Like herding kittehs.

  4. John in IL Says:

    Teenagers are a different story. I’m thinking about later in life. When I’m 70, I’ll have to pay someone to clean my gutters.

  5. superdave524 Says:

    Well, I’ll let you know if they ever get any better.

  6. John in IL Says:

    You do have that to look forward to. Eventually they become adults and they force their elderly parents into old folks’ homes.

  7. superdave524 Says:

    I’m planning to not get elderly. That’s almost as bad as old. Do the Who still play “My Generation”?

  8. superdave524 Says:

    …or at 48 is it already too late?

  9. John in IL Says:

    For what?

  10. superdave524 Says:

    er, I forgot…

  11. John in IL Says:

    lmao


Leave a Reply

