When teh 80s let me down

June 27, 2008


So many of my musical faves of the eighties failed to live up to their potential. Their debut albums were chock full of great music but then they proceeded directly to Selloutville (or Ranoutofideas City).

First example: A Flock of Seagulls. I Ran and Space Age Love Song are classic New Wave hits. Here is the first single from their followup album:

I’ve got nothing against welding but wtf?.

And don’t get me started on Naked Eyes. “Promises, Promises” is on my top ten list of favorite 80s songs. What happened?:

I wanted to know what (in the name of God) they were thinking.

The same goes for Scritti Politti. After the brilliance of Cupid and Psyche, I expected such great things. Instead, I got this shit:

The Tupamaros got a platinum card (all right)
I got a heart of gold and it’s time to get hard (and I like it)

HUH? Sorry. Boom! You suck.

4 Responses to “When teh 80s let me down”

  1. Quakerjono Says:

    Okay, I’ll agree with you on Scritti Politti and Naked Eyes. Who knows what happened there. But Flock of Seagulls’ “Wishing”? That’s a classic, man! Okay, the video is odd. Apparently in the 80s we thought space station welders would look like that, but the song itself is amazing.

  2. John in IL Says:

    I can see what you’re saying but that song is so damn plodding. I wanted “I Ran” part II. That and I traded my AFoS cassette tape and my only U2 tape for Prince’s 1999. I thought it was a kick ass deal.

  3. Jon Says:

    Your comments re: Scritti’s “Boom! There she was” made me smile 🙂 Agree, it is a bizarre lyric, and just one of many on the album.

    I think the album “Provision” will be forever clouded in disappointment for many, not least by Green himself, who refuses to go anywhere near any of its content when playing live.

    For me, though, it’s the album that got me into the band, especially the sumptuous “Oh Patti”, so it will always hold a fond place in my heart.

    Ironically though, the track on the album that has (by Green’s own admission) been one of the factors in keeping him financially afloat during his long sabbaticals, namely “Best Thing Ever” (appeared on the “Who’s That Girl” soundtrack) is probably my least favourite Scritti track ever. Ho hum.

  4. John in IL Says:

    Hey Jon, thanks for stopping by. I do seem to attract my fair share of jo(h)ns. I have Provision lying around here somewhere. I won’t be looking for it anytime soon.


Leave a Reply

