Instrumentals: Rules for not knowing the words

July 8, 2008

Love my instrumentals. Where have they gone? Here are some of my faves…

The 50s, Les Baxter:

The 60s, Herb Alpert:

The 70s, Hot Butter:

The 80s, Herbie Hancock:

Am I missing any good ones in the last decade of the last century or in this century?

UPDATE: Blog friend North Dallas Thirty reminded me of this great song from the 90s by Robert Miles:

And I thought maybe this was from the 21st century, but wrong…it came out in 2000:

What does the 21st century have against instrumentals?

UPDATE 2:
Blog friend superdave linked this great song from the 30s:

and while I’m at it, the 40s weren’t so bad either:

12 Responses to “Instrumentals: Rules for not knowing the words”

  1. Jamie Says:

    I can’t view videos from work, but I didn’t see anything from ArtofNoise?

  2. John in IL Says:

    Never was a big fan. I liked Beat Box. And Kiss is fun(because of Tom Jones)but that’s not an instrumental.

  3. superdave524 Says:

    Sing,_Sing,_Sing from Benny Goodman and Take_Five by Dave Brubeck need to be on the list, Fa Shizzle.

  4. John in IL Says:

    Thanks for the links 😉 . That Benny Goodman tune is smokin’ (it has a cowbell!). Why did I stop at the fifties?

  5. John in IL Says:

    and “sing, sing sing” is a crappy name for an instrumental.

  6. superdave524 Says:

    I agree. Where’s the singing? Irony,perhaps?

  7. superdave524 Says:

    And In the Mood rocks pretty good, too!

  8. colio2007 Says:

    am totes gonna steal Herb Alpert for my monday morning dance party.

    one of my favorite instrumentals, which my little bro says would be my wedding walk-in song if i ever had one, is pharoahe monch’s “simon says”

  9. superdave524 Says:

    Okay, John. Enough rest. Back to work.

  10. John in IL Says:

    Steal away, col. What’s mine is yours and what’s not mine is still yours.

    I’m working on it, Dave. Finding hotness in the world isn’t easy.


  11. […] “Tijuana Taxi” by Herb Alpert & the Tijuana Brass. H/T to John! […]

  12. 0reacties Says:

    Eat a normal, information with others?Most convenient way, they in turn.Drop at implantation, will increase when.To clean their 0reacties, dog is actually the surface.Viven entre, allow the modem.,


Leave a Reply

