Not so popular names in pop music (or It’s not all about me)

August 1, 2008

I’m on a name roll, bitches! I’ve done Johns and Daves (heh). I thought I should see what other names inspire people to write songs:

Colleen (watch out for her; she’s trouble):

Jeff (no mention of the name “Jeff” in the song, just in the title(Song for Jeffrey)). Hippies, gotta love ’em:

Jamie (weird that the only other song I could find is Weep for Jamie by Peter, Paul and Mary….and now I know where Tone Loc got that sample for Wild Thing):

Kevin was impossible. So you get this instead:

Patrick was impossible too. I thought about the Patrick Star song from Spongebob but…

Kate gets the most flattering song:

7 Responses to “Not so popular names in pop music (or It’s not all about me)”

  1. colio2007 Says:

    john this is so fun. i had never heard that ode to my namesake and even though it’s just a song, i want to open up a can of whoopass on the singer. who does she think she is?!

    as a little girl my parents used to play this song instead… they tweaked it to sound like colleen. (somehow jolene was a man-stealer too, hmmm).

    diamond dave in prime form for the jaime song. and your selection for kevin is tops.

    this one’s for you, pal.

  2. John in IL Says:

    It’s a great song. I’ve never heard it before either but I love it. Story songs rock (as Dolly proves). And a can of whoopass always is a handy accessory.

  3. superdave524 Says:

    I loved the early Jethro Tull. Looks like lead singer/flutist Ian Anderson was too, er, chemically enhanced to do his trade-mark one-legged stand. The jumpin’ Patrick was fun, too.

  4. Jamie Says:

    The closest I’ve ever heard was “Jamie’s got a gun,” by Aerosmith. People consistently piss me off with that song.


  5. And you do know that my name’s not Jeff; it was a convenient nom de guerre for quite a while. 🙂 Try Dan instead.

    And Jamie, I sympathize; let’s just say my actual, registered, first name, by which my mother still calls me, was taken in vain in the worst fashion possible by a song that has refused to die with the passing of each successive generation.

  6. John in IL Says:

    How embarrassing. Sorry, Dan. You’ll always be NDT to me anyway…


Leave a Reply

