Superfluity (or Everytime I turn around, there I am)

August 1, 2008

Superdave commented over on his blog on the number of Johns he knows (working as a public defender, he has probably met a few lowercase johns, too). That got me to googling (always a good thing) and I found out that the Social Security Administration has a tool for seeing how popular a name is in any given year. Too cool! (I don’t always hate teh govt) See where you rank.

Anywho, I’ve always liked my name. Everyone knows how to spell it (after the “with an H ” question). It’s easy to remember (although I do get called Steve quite a bit (and Larry?, once)). And I’m named after my grandfather, who I loved dearly (my middle name is my other grandfather’s name, who died before I was born). But SD is right. There are a lot of us Johns out there.

Funny (to me) aside: When Dad got remarried, my step-mother had a son named John. Dad loved Newhart so he always did that Larry, Darryl and Darryl bit (this is my son John and this is my other son John). Dad’s a regular comedian…

Leave a Reply

