Guts and nuts

August 5, 2008

Blog friend col is reading her teenage journals (she’s now 33) for all the world to hear. And see. On youtube. That takes guts. And it’s also incredibly entertaining.

My teenage journal, if I had written one when I was 14, would go more like this: I beat off again thinking about seeing Tom showering after gym class. And I only walked by his house twice on my way home from the bus stop…

(now that’s a “my life” post, col)

3 Responses to “Guts and nuts”

  1. superdave524 Says:

    14? I was still cutting school, shoplifting yo-yos and matches, and listening to Steeler’s Wheel and playing carroms with my buddy Frank. Frank and I would walk up and down the beach looking at girls, but didn’t have a clue how to get one. Didn’t have a journal. If I’d’ve had one, a typical entry probably would’ve read: “Walked half way to school, then me and Andy hung out in the woods. Can’t go home because Rosa’s (the Maid) there. Valerie Dwyer’s hot. I walked by her house twice. Jane Ritter’s hot, too. She rode her bike past me twice when I was at Dad’s house. I wonder why. I caught Dad looking at her. Disgusting. He’s an old man. I baked a cake. Dad told me guys don’t bake cakes, but mom told me a lot of chefs are guys. Frank came over. He said Russ had sex. He says it only makes you want to have it more. Mom’s got a date with that loser who washes windows. Andy and me will get rid of him. I got to get ready for football practice now.”

    My mom eventually became a nun, and I learned that Dad was wrong about a lot of things. I still don’t know much about relationships.

  2. John in IL Says:

    Not bad Dave. I felt like I was there.

  3. superdave524 Says:

    Thanks, John.


Leave a Reply

