Over the top (or Get a life)

August 28, 2008

I read this today in the comments section of one of the blogs I frequent:

I am having an Obamapalooza party if [Obama] wins. And I don’t want to think about what I will do if he doesn’t. I will be truly depressed and wear black for weeks.

That scares me a little bit. “Truly depressed”? Really? I live my own life. My mental state (and clothing color choice) doesn’t depend on who’s president. And McCain and Obama aren’t that different in their positions, anyway. It’s not like we’re choosing between Hitler and Jesus.

5 Responses to “Over the top (or Get a life)”

  1. superdave524 Says:

    Yeah, we Dems do get a bit dramatic. My mom’s crowd was worse. Some of dem were among the “well, I’ll just move to Canada if Bush gets a second term” crowd. He did, and they didn’t. And I agree: though there are differences enough in policy that it is worthwhile to get out and vote, McCain and Obama are both fairly centrist (shoot, if McCain had gotten the Republican nomination eight years ago, I probably would have voted for him).

  2. John in IL Says:

    I have a hard time taking someone like that seriously.

  3. superdave524 Says:

    You’d have to John; they’re nuns.


  4. Get this person’s address. I want to mail them a gallon of dye.

    What? Four years ago I was sending them U-Haul coupons…

  5. colio2007 Says:

    not only is it ridiculous, but it’s someone trying to be cool by rejecting/hating a political party.

    not original … and not at all cool!


Leave a Reply

