Neighborliness (or BO on BO part II)

September 10, 2008


Yeah, Bill O’Reilly is a total tool but this really bothers me (somewhere around 8:00):

If I am sitting pretty and you’ve got a waitress who is making minimum wage plus tips, and I can afford it, but she can’t, what’s the big deal for me to say I’m going to pay a little bit more. That is neighborliness

No, BO, that’s not “neighborliness”. That’s government using force to take money away from one person to give it to someone else. Not so neighborly…

12 Responses to “Neighborliness (or BO on BO part II)”

  1. superdave524 Says:

    The politics of government distribution is ALWAYS about income redistribution. Always. Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac don’t do the job, so we bail them out. I bought guns for soldiers. I didn’t get the guns. The soldiers didn’t get the money for producing the guns: private corporations did. VP Cheney’s old employer, Halburton, has gotten lots of my money and lots of yours. Who carries the freight and who pays for it are ultimately political decisions. Argue that a dollar to Bill Gates is the same as a dollar to a waitress if you want. I’ll stand by the waitress. If you’d like, you may feel free to stand by the corporate fatcats. That’s what politics is all about.

  2. John in IL Says:

    No matter how you slice it, it isn’t neighborliness.

  3. superdave524 Says:

    Thanks, Kate.

    And John, though I may not agree with the politics, I got to love the Mr. Rogers pic.

  4. John in IL Says:

    Well said, but it has nothing to do with being neighborly. You volunteer to help your neighbor. My neighbor didn’t threaten me with imprisonment or hold a gun to my head if I didn’t help him. Shouldn’t intelligent liberals like the two of you be able to see the difference?

    You can say that paying taxes is your civic duty but it’s a complete joke to call it neighborliness.

  5. superdave524 Says:

    Yeah, I’ll grant you I almost never smile when I pay my taxes.

  6. John in IL Says:

    Avoid, deflect and change the subject. You’re a good lawyer, Dave.

  7. superdave524 Says:

    Er, thanks?

  8. BPstyler Says:

    Ummm….it’s actually called communism. No surprise since Bayack (in the Senate)Obama is well schooled in Marxism — the radical college lecturer that he is.


  9. If I am sitting pretty and you’ve got a waitress who is making minimum wage plus tips, and I can afford it, but she can’t, what’s the big deal for me to say I’m going to pay a little bit more.

    If that’s such a concern for you, Obama, eat at her restaurant and give her a better tip.

    But then poor Barack would actually have to spend his own dollar rather than putting in a penny and demanding that 99 other people be forced to do the same.

  10. Quakerjono Says:

    Mmm, I know exactly what you mean, NDT. I’d much prefer Bush pay the 3 trillion out of his own pocket for his military misadventures rather than me having to fork over around $1,700+ for it.

    Politicians, huh? Whadda ya gonna do?


  11. Big difference, QJ; you and I individually are not going to be able to purchase tanks and whatnot, or send Predatorss off to methodically pick off the terrorists that are threatening us.

    But we CAN leave much better tips.


Leave a Reply

