Bill speakin’ truth to power (and Joy Behar)

September 25, 2008

I knew there was a reason why I voted for Bill Clinton (twice). These clips are all from the past week.

Bill on CNBC:

Bill on The View:

Bill on Good Morning America:

Bill on Larry King:

and this is my favorite one, from later in the GMA interview:

Chris Cuomo, ABC News: A little surprising for you to hear the Democrats saying, “This came out of nowhere, this is all about the Republicans. We had nothing to do with this.” Nancy Pelosi saying it. She signed the ’99 Gramm Bill. She knew what was going on with the SEC. They’re all sophisticated people. Is that playing politics in this situation?

Bill Clinton: Well, maybe everybody does that a little bit. I think the responsibility the Democrats have may rest more in resisting any efforts by Republicans in the Congress or by me when I was President to put some standards and tighten up a little on Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac.

3 Responses to “Bill speakin’ truth to power (and Joy Behar)”

  1. superdave524 Says:

    I miss Bill. He had some bad judgment in personal matters, but he was one smart, insightful dude. Sounds like he still is. He certainly hit on a big truth in that “View” interview: neither Obama nor McCain are demons, and economics are not the only thing people do- or necessarily even should- consider when picking what they want in their president. McCain wasn’t asleep at the switch when he picked Palin (though his assessment of Palin was measured, it wasn’t harsh, and, of course, he drew parallels between his State and Palins). He also said he’s a loyal democrat. I’d’ve voted for McCain when he ran against Bush, and I think he’s the best Republican available. There’ve been a lot of very serious changes in America since then. I personally think we need a Democrat, and Obama is the Democrat that’s been nominated.

  2. John in IL Says:

    Wow. I actually agree with everything you said except for that last sentence. Unfortunately for you, me and our country, the hard left is going absolutely apeshit over what Clinton has said.

  3. superdave524 Says:

    I’ve always considered myself a moderate. I generally vote for Democrats, but not always (though I prolly wouldn’t’ve said that out loud when I was active in party politics a few years ago). I know better than to believe that everything “my” candidate says is true, or that everything that “the other” candidate- in whatever election or contest- says is false. They all lie sometimes. Most of them have a better answer on some issues than on others. Ya pays your money, and ya takes your chances. Ultimately, I’ve been taking my political advice from The Police lately. “…there is no political solution… we are spirits in the material world”


Leave a Reply

