Teh gays aren’t the only ones who love teh kittehs

October 11, 2008

Last week I was telling you how much I like my men with pets. Well, looky here. A growing number of straight men are embracing teh kittehs:

Although there are no hard (or soft) statistics (it is rare to find an owner, man or woman, walking a cat in public), it seems that single, heterosexual male cat owners are on the rise. Over the last few years Sandra DeFeo, an executive director at the Humane Society of New York, said she had seen an increase in the number of single, straight men who are adopting cats.

I wonder how Humane Society Sandra determines the sexuality of the new cat owners? (now I have nasty pictures in my head)

One hetero male cat owner’s reasoning:

dogs are for the weaker of spirit, since the dog is, in effect, “your wingman.”

“If you’re feeling insecure about your space in the world, you get a dog because he will always back you up,” he said. “He’s the insecure man’s best friend.”

A man with a cat, on the other hand, “is secure with himself,” he said. “He’s sharing his space with a predator.”

Er, OK, dude. Whatever works for you.

Here’s another guy’s take on it:

“Maybe it’s not the most masculine thing in the world, but I’m comfortable enough in my own manhood,” he said. “The cat’s nice. I come home after a long day of work, it sits in my lap, I pet it, and then it goes about its business.”

That sounds more like it. Now if only he could find a girlfriend like that.

UPDATE: Check out the cat hair on the cute guy’s shirt. Unless you own a black cat, black is not a color you can wear (which I think would be a deal breaker in NYC).

4 Responses to “Teh gays aren’t the only ones who love teh kittehs”

  1. Quakerjono Says:

    Okay, but, I’m curious. Exactly what the hell kind of questionnaire is the Humane Society of New York using to determine who gets their pets?

    Seriously, is one’s sexuality a pertinent question to ask when one is trying to adopt a gently-used animal? Or is this information being offered by the men themselves when they’re going in?

    “Yo! Dude, I just totally got back from drinking 20 beers with all my incredibly heterosexual man-friends at this football game where we farted and belched a lot and were also having sex with enormous-brested cheerleaders outside of a Hooters and I thought to myself, “Hey, dude, go get a fuckin’ CAT!” Cause, like, I’m totally straight and I love pussy and stuff and, like, chicks will totally think I care about them and stuff and I’m all sensitive. And I am sensitive…to her mouth on my JOHNSON…HAHAHAHAH! AM I RIGHT, DUDE!?!?! PUNCH IT IN!!! So, like, where are the cats, man?”

    God, are pet shelters going to be the new Home Depot for the gays who like straight trade?

  2. superdave524 Says:

    That is pretty damn funny, QJ.

    I had a couple of cats that used to let me feed them, but they seem to have disappeared (In totally unrelated news, there’s a new Chinese restaurant about a block from the Manor). Anyway, my oldest called me a few weeks ago from Sewanee, and asked if, at the end of the school year, I’d adopt the cat that he and three of his housemates took in. I said yes, but only if they named him Buster. That covers my masculinity, doesn’t it?

  3. John in IL Says:

    Dunno, QJ. Humane Society Sandra must have some serious gaydar abilities (and it’s the NYT. What do you expect?)

    And SD, you hang around here. Your masculinity is already in question. If I were you, I’d go the opposite direction and rename the cat Cocksucker.

  4. superdave524 Says:

    Cats and chickens, John? Nah, I’m sticking with “Buster”. And I like hanging out with funny, intelligent people, which, I suppose, already brings my bona fides into question. Guess I’m a mavrick.


Leave a Reply

