I’m just like public television (without the puppets and Jim Lehrer)

November 2, 2008

I need you. Yes, only you can help me keep my domain name in my hands. I coughed up the first fifteen bucks for the name because I am a narcissistic son of a bitch (can you be an anonymous narcissist?). That was twelve months ago. Those in charge of teh intertubes are now threatening to take it away from me if I don’t come up with another $15. So I’m doing an internet style fundraiser. Fifteen bucks is all I need. A one dollar contribution will get you a favorable mention on my blog (I’ll say three nice things about you). Give me three dollars and I’ll write a paragraph agreeing with whatever you say. Five dollars will get you all of the above and a free John in IL coffee mug (plus shipping/handling)

Click on Minnie Pearl in my sidebar and she will take care of you.

21 Responses to “I’m just like public television (without the puppets and Jim Lehrer)”

  1. superdave524 Says:

    That’s a great gimmick. Okay, I get paid on Friday. I reckon I can drop a coupla ducats in the kitteh right round then.

  2. John in IL Says:

    Times are tough, bitch.


  3. […] 4, 2008 Kate was kind enough to contribute to the cause. She understands the importance of funding Caulk is cheap.  The rest of you bitches need to take […]

  4. Quakerjono Says:

    You know, SOME people pay for THEIR OWN domain names and hosting fees without complaining…and now those people OWN ROUGHLY A THIRD OF YOUR ASS!

    WHERE’S MAH MUG, BITCH!?!?

  5. John in IL Says:

    You get your choice: “favorite grandpa”, “kitteh in a window silhouette” or my niece’s artwork mug (or you can have my travel mug). My ass has similar categories.

  6. Quakerjono Says:

    “You get your choice…my niece’s artwork mug…My ass has similar categories.”

    The mind reels…and then runs off whimpering and crying into the night. One’s ass and one’s niece should never be related, no matter how tangentially.

  7. John in IL Says:

    And you’re funding this shit. Love it.

  8. col Says:

    dude, i pay for premium content, and CIC is totes premium! how much do you have left to raise? i’d much rather underwrite your cynical arts than that of the the nerds at NPR — they’re always so annoying about the begging.

  9. John in IL Says:

    HA! Thanks, col. I’m nine dollars short so far. But the fundraiser isn’t over yet so you may want to wait.

  10. superdave524 Says:

    Aiight, I dropped a fin. I reckon it’ll clear. Guess we’ll know soon enough.

  11. John in IL Says:

    Thanks so much, Dave. And your choice of mug would be?


  12. Just call me Venture Capital Angel. 🙂

  13. John in IL Says:

    Thanks sugar venture capital angel daddy…and I hope you have enough left over to pay for your country club membership.


  14. The day I buy a country club membership is the day that I formally shoot myself — because by then I will have a Town Car, a tweed vest, powder-blue slacks, and matching white shoes, and life will then have no meaning.

  15. John in IL Says:

    Call me before you shoot yourself. You can pay for teh drinks.

  16. Quakerjono Says:

    There. Is. Nothing. Wrong. With. Tweed. Vests. You. Heartless. Bitch.

  17. Quakerjono Says:

    There is nothing wrong with tweed vests, you heartless bitch!

  18. superdave524 Says:

    The silhouetted kitteh, I think, would do nicely, John.


  19. […] 10, 2008 Thanks to your generous contributions, caulkischeap.com is secured for another year. My promise to you: more of the same (great writing, […]

  20. Jamie Says:

    Waitafuckingminute. That’s all it takes to get money out of these people is BEG? Three years of blogging and no one clues me in on this shit until now? Here I am wasting my time with googlads no one clicks . . .

    Well, I suppose writing something on the blog once in a while would help . . .

    Then again, if you have to agree with QJ that there’s nothing wrong with tweed vests . . .I think I’ll stick with the free blogspot domain for now. *chuckle*

    Tweed vests–or vests of any kind, whatsoever–are just so 80’s!

  21. John in IL Says:

    Waitafuckingminute. That’s all it takes to get money out of these people is BEG?

    um, yeah. Having no shame helps too.


Leave a Reply

