Emotion vs science vs politics vs reality

December 18, 2008

This pisses me off because I know that some people are persuaded by this shit:

(h/t Watts Up With That?)

Now this I kind of like:
jump

UPDATE: Santa gets evicted (and here I thought that reindeers could fly):

8 Responses to “Emotion vs science vs politics vs reality”

  1. superdave524 Says:

    That’s what propaganda is all about, John. Most folks- even smart ones- react to emotion a lot better than they do to logic. Just like that wonderful “pay your taxes” clip you posted a few months ago.

  2. superdave524 Says:

    …I started to post a “bambi’s mom gets shot” clip to illustrate in my comment, but actually got caught up in it myself, so, no clip.

  3. John in IL Says:

    Awww, you big softie.

  4. kate Says:

    Pursuaded to do what exactly?

    I’m pursuaded to reduce, reuse, and recycle more when catching a glimpse of a nature program with real polar bears, emaciated and starving, trying to find some food and ice in a quickly melting glacier park.

    That shit bothers me a whole lot more.

  5. John in IL Says:

    Pursuaded to do what exactly?

    Persuaded into supporting spending trillions of dollars, crippling the world’s economy and necessating a serious curtailing of freedom in order to combat a problem that, in reality, will have little, if any, effect on global temperatures.

    And I’m not against any of the actions you’ve taken. Good for you and good for the earth. It’s the emotional manipulation that bothers me.

  6. col Says:

    I don’t know about global warming but EMOTION is real, and an incredible motivator both in politics and in life. Love (and the lack of it) is what makes the world go round.

    Love,
    Zen Col

  7. Jamie Says:

    Love the “jump” picture. Might use it as my blog header. 🙂

  8. Quakerjono Says:

    I’m with Jamie. The Jump picture is fricken sweet.


Leave a Reply

