Fun (and Fascism)

March 5, 2009

password

Sorry for the lack of postings. A former love of my life has reentered my world. (No. Not Burt Convey.)

Right around the turn of the century (I love saying that), I found the internet game WordRiot by Pogo. I loved it and played it religiously for about two years. Great game. If anyone remembers the old gameshow Password, it’s kinda like that but with a bunch of people. Sounds like fun, right? Well, it was fun for me. for a while… then it turned ugly. One of the features of the game was that you could boot any player if a majority of players on one team decided so. I liked this. If you sucked at playing the game, you were gone. Yeah, democracy at work! The game also became increasingly cliquish. If you said the wrong thing, you were gone (I got booted for calling someone a Nazi).

In the end, Pogo yanked the game. Flash forward 10 years. Pogo will now let you play WordRiot for the small price of $20. I bought it (and changed my user name). I’m loving it again. You can no longer boot someone. Now you can anonymously rank the cluegivers. Bad cluegivers get less stars. Free markets at work. And it’s much more fun this way.

If you want to play WordRiot for yourself, see here for free trial. (and I’m John in IL there too)

3 Responses to “Fun (and Fascism)”

  1. superdave524 Says:

    Sounds like fun. I may give it a whirl.

  2. superdave524 Says:

    That was fun. I got to learn to keep the table talk down a little, though. Guess I’ll sleep when I’m dead.

  3. John in IL Says:

    You got it. Table talk is what it is about. Come back.


Leave a Reply

