Go-withs (and other subcategories)

April 27, 2009

Go-withs are a category of salt and pepper shakers. I bet you didn’t know that. By definition, go-withs are two shakers that don’t match but “go with” each other. The cowboy and horse from the earlier post is a good example. Although not usually valuable, they are still fun.

Phone/Phonebook:
phone1

Turkey/Roaster:
turkroaster1

Stork/Baby:
stork1

This is also considered a hanger; where one shaker hangs off the other.

Pipe/Slippers:
pipe

A nice example of the subgenre of minis (very small shakers)

Here’s a newer set. A PBS offering I think. Mona Lisa/Frame:
mona11

Mona is the salt and the frame is the pepper. This type is also known as a nester; where one shaker rests on the other (or a base).

It looked nice setting next to my paint-by-numbers Mona Lisa.

4 Responses to “Go-withs (and other subcategories)”

  1. superdave524 Says:

    You know I gots to have my shakers.

  2. colio2007 Says:

    brilliant kitsch, john. my hipster cousins in williamsburg brooklyn would be impressed!

  3. John in IL Says:

    Sometimes I think “hipster” is a euphemism for dork (except hipsters try harder).

  4. ina pinkney Says:

    We have hundreds of pairs, mostly go-withs, all given to me by customers because they know I like them on the tables. You can see some on my website.


Leave a Reply

