Deal or no deal

May 5, 2009

Here is an interesting question I’ve read in comment sections on other blogs:

How much will temperatures decrease (or slow the rate of increase) if the US enacts cap and trade (global warming fighting) legislation?

The only answer I have found so far is from The Heritage Foundation:

Analysis by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) shows that a 60 percent reduction in CO2 emissions by 2050 will reduce CO2 concentrations by only 25 ppm in 2095. This reduction would affect world temperatures by 0.1 to 0.2 degrees C.

Anyone have another source that tells me how much less warming there will be if the current “cap and trade” legislation is enacted? If I’m paying for it, I’d like to know what I’m buying.

6 Responses to “Deal or no deal”

  1. superdave524 Says:

    Sigh. It seems like such a good idea on paper.

  2. John in IL Says:

    We’re talking about billions/trillions of dollars spent. You sigh?

  3. superdave524 Says:

    Yeah, well, I pay what I can in taxes, but it idint enough. I figure you poor suckers who actually pay ever’ thing they ask will ultimately be paying for my room and board when they send me off to the big house.

  4. kate Says:

    The Heritage Foundation?

    Come on.

    You’re better than that.

  5. John in IL Says:

    The Heritage Foundation?

    You’re better than that.

    I specifically asked in my post if anyone has another source that says how much less warming there will be if climate change legislation is enacted. I was amazed that the question hadn’t been asked (or answered) more often.

    Looking into the Heritage numbers, they got their answers from comparing what the UN says here (the IPCC 2007 report; page 9) to what the EPA says here (page 193).

    Since you consider The Heritage Foundation’s numbers to be suspect, you must have based your opinion on more solid sources. I’d love to read them.


  6. […] 11, 2009 Why am I worrying about the actual effects of “cap and trade” on climate. This is scarier: Given a choice of three options, just […]


Leave a Reply

