Roots and revolution (or History and houseguests)

June 12, 2009

I was shocked today. Totally shocked. Mother’s 83 yo sister is visiting her. No, that’s not shocking (although Mother is a little peeved about it). What’s shocking is that auntie brought a book about the history of our family. Holy hell. I thought our family history basically consisted of Danish immigrants that showed up in the late 19th century to farm shit and to look cute. For the most part that is true but the book she brought documents that my mother’s mother’s mother’s mother’s father’s father (my great great great great great grandfather) emigrated from Germany to the US in 1771 and fought in the American Revolution (Private 4th class). I’m a son of the Revolution. LOVE IT!

4 Responses to “Roots and revolution (or History and houseguests)”

  1. superdave524 Says:

    Very cool, John. My mom’s mom was a DAR, and mom’s dad was a SAR. Dad’s mom’s family was from Sweden. Love that geneology stuff, but I don’t really have the time to search it.

  2. kate Says:

    Wow. That’s bad ass.

    My peeps didn’t come over until the middle of the 1800s when they couldn’t find any food in Ireland. I’d love to find out more, but have no idea or time to go about it.

  3. John in IL Says:

    Thanks guys.

    Dave: You are connected by two different patriots then. Awesome. Do you know who they are? And getting into DAR/SAR is tough. You have to provide some serious proof. Someone in your family must have a detailed genealogy record. If not contact DAR/SAR (if you’re interested in your genealogy). They probably still have the records.

    kate: I thought the same about my family until I read this book. You don’t know until you check it out (or someone checks it out for you). I found out a lot of information on different part of my family tree by looking on ancestry.com. Some unknown relative of mine had done the leg work because we shared the same great-grandparent. We are all connected in the end.

    One downside: I found out my great-grandmother married her 1st cousin once removed…ew (although it was after the father of all her children died).


  4. Howdy, I have to say thanks to any autor for the web pages. Practically all is apparent as well as valuable. The theory will also be unique in my view. Everything that you should phon us all is there a web everything that make full use of? a big heads up once and furthermore keep working top task.


Leave a Reply

