Ecoweenies on parade (part 2)

June 21, 2009

Today’s example is Julie Johnston’s comment on Real Climate. Julie says:

I keep thinking that what would actually help is a little bit of urgency, of panic, of fear, of scared-shitlessness on the part of the scientists. These are the people who *know* what is going to happen…

Holy flying leaps, what does it take to get 2500 scientists excited? “Difficult for contemporary societies to cope with”?! Thousands — hundreds of thousands — of people are already losing their lives and their livelihoods, their food security and water sources, their homes and their whole nations at only +0.78 degrees C!

Holy flying leaps, Julie, you do love your drama (and your exclamation points).

She was kind enough to link to her site. Now it all makes sense. Julie says:

Sometimes I just break down and weep. I am one of the unlucky ones … I understand global climate change, I see it happening, I know who is being impacted the worst (and it ain’t rich white people with big cars) – and it breaks my heart.

Now I might feel sorry for Julie but her martyr complex is totally out of control:

I lament that more people don’t share this burden.

And then she goes on to quote global warming jokes. This was her favorite:

“According to a new UN report, the global warming outlook is much worse than originally predicted. Which is pretty bad when they originally predicted it would destroy the planet.” – Jay Leno

My professional diagnosis and prescription: Irony deficient Julie needs either a drink or a smack upside the head.

3 Responses to “Ecoweenies on parade (part 2)”

  1. superdave524 Says:

    Irony deficient? Oh, that’s rich.

  2. Julie Says:

    More like a B12 deficiency. (Vegetarians are kinder to the planet.) Guess you missed my post on ironies?

    Never been called an “ecoweenie” before. Don’t like being lumped in with Obama though, must admit, as he’s actually a coal industry shill. I just love kids. (If that’s dramatic, so be it.) And I understand the science. Unlike someone who would call me an ecoweenie.

    Anyway, thanks for the link! (No, wait, exclamation marks not allowed¡ Progenycide is allowed, yes. Passion, no. I get it now.)


  3. Some fields are empty. Please, fill them


Leave a Reply

